7.4 C
Saturday, May 18, 2024

Abdulrazak Gurnah has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2021 for his works

Abdulrazak Gurnah, a Tanzanian writer, was awarded the Nobel Prize in literature in 2021 for his uncompromising and sympathetic exploration of the consequences of colonialism and the plight of refugees caught in a chasm between cultures and continents, as well as the destiny of the refugees themselves.

He was born in 1948 and raised on the island of Zanzibar in the Indian Ocean, but he was forced to flee his home country when he was forced to seek asylum in England towards the end of the 1960s. He was formerly Professor of English and Postcolonial Literatures at the University of Kent in Canterbury, and he has written eleven novels and a number of short stories, all of which have appeared in anthologies.

“In his art, the subject of the refugee’s disturbance may be seen in many different places. He started writing when he was 21 years old and living in exile in England. Although Swahili was his first language, English became his creative instrument, and he published his first novel in English “According to a statement from the Swedish Academy. According to the statement, Abdulrazak Gurnah deliberately departs with convention, upending the colonial viewpoint in order to emphasize the perspectives of indigenous peoples and communities. The result of this is that his book “Destination,” about a love affair, becomes a direct contradiction to the concept of “the imperial romance” that he has coined.

In literature, the Nobel Prize is given out by the Swedish Academy, which is based in Stockholm, Sweden.

According to the Nobel Foundation, Alfred Nobel had a wide range of cultural interests. His intellectual interests were cultivated throughout his early childhood, and they remained with him throughout his life. His library included a diverse and extensive collection of books written in a variety of languages. During the final few years of his life, he decided to try his hand at writing and started penning short stories.

According to the report, literature was the fourth prize area specified by Nobel in his testament. So date, the Academy has recognized 117 individuals for their literary accomplishments, with 16 of those individuals being women.

For her “unmistakable lyrical voice,” which she describes as “an austere beauty that renders individual life universal,” Louise Glück, a poet from the United States and a professor of English at Yale University, has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2020.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded on Tuesday by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences to Benjamin List and David MacMillan for their development of a precise new tool for molecular construction: organocatalysis. Their work has had a significant impact on pharmaceutical research and has helped to make chemistry more environmentally friendly.

Meanwhile, the Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded, with half of the prize going to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann and the other half going to Giorgio Parisi, for their work laying the groundwork for our understanding of the Earth’s climate and how humanity influences it, as well as for revolutionizing the theory of disordered materials and stochastic processes.

The Nobel Prize announcements started on Monday with the recognition of David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for their contributions to medicine via their discovery of receptors for temperature and touch, which were announced on Tuesday.

A Boyle
A Boyle
I cover Science related topics for The National Era
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here