8.4 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Bayern’s Perfect 10: The Bundesliga heavyweights clinch the league championship with three games to spare in the regular season

Bayern Munich have won their tenth consecutive Bundesliga championship after defeating Borussia Dortmund at the Allianz Arena on Sunday.

It is a fantastic start for Julian Nagelsmann in his first season in command, and it may go some way towards making up for the Bavarians’ elimination from the Champions League at the hands of Villarreal earlier in the season. Bayern’s much superior goal difference meant that a point would have been sufficient, but the victory made the championship a mathematical certainty for the team.

Serge Gnabry opened the scoring for the champions with a magnificent volley from the outside of the box, and Robert Lewandowski doubled the advantage before half-time to put the game beyond doubt. Emre Can’s penalty kick gave Dortmund some hope, but a late goal from Jamal Musiala guaranteed that Nagelsmann’s team came away with the win.

Despite only appearing in 33 games this season, Lewandowski has scored 33 goals for the Polish national team. He now has 48 points across all competitions, and he just needs one more to surpass the total he scored during the 2020-21 season.

The Poland striker was also a member of the last side to win the German championship other than Bayern Munich. He scored 22 league goals for Borussia Dortmund in 2011-12, helping Jurgen Klopp’s club finish eight points ahead at the top of the table. He also played a key role in the team’s journey to the Champions League final against Bayern Munich a year later.

Bayern Munich had 75 points from 31 games this season, which is only three points short of the previous season’s total under Hansi Flick. Dortmund, on the other hand, is certain to play in the Champions League next season despite the loss, courtesy to Freiburg’s loss against Borussia Monchengladbach on Saturday.

In addition to being Bayern’s tenth consecutive victory, it was Thomas Muller’s eleventh Bundesliga success of his professional career. The German international earned his first Championship with the club in 2009-10 and has been a member of the squad for each of the team’s following championship victories.

Dan O'Brien
Dan O'Brien
I am a journalist for The National Era with an emphasis in sports.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here