15.2 C
Saturday, June 15, 2024

Iranian Activist Narges Mohammadi Awarded Nobel Peace Prize for 2023

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2023 was awarded to Iranian activist Narges Mohammadi for her unwavering dedication to fighting against the oppression of women in Iran and her tireless efforts to promote human rights and freedom for all. The announcement was made by the Swedish Academy in Stockholm on Friday.

In an official statement, the academy acknowledged the immense personal sacrifices made by Narges Mohammadi in her brave struggle. She has been arrested by the Iranian regime a staggering 13 times, convicted on five occasions, and handed down a total of 31 years in prison sentences along with 154 lashes. At the time of the announcement, Ms. Mohammadi remained incarcerated.

The academy emphasized that Narges Mohammadi’s recognition with the Nobel Peace Prize continues a longstanding tradition in which the Norwegian Nobel Committee has honored individuals working tirelessly to advance social justice, human rights, and democracy.

According to the academy, the laureates of the Peace Prize represent civil society within their respective countries and have consistently championed the right to criticize those in power while safeguarding the fundamental rights of their fellow citizens. Their exceptional efforts have included documenting war crimes, exposing human rights violations, and confronting the abuse of authority. Collectively, they underscore the vital role of civil society in promoting peace and democracy.

The 2022 Nobel Peace Prize recipients included human rights advocate Ales Bialiatski from Belarus, the Russian human rights organization Memorial, and the Ukrainian human rights organization Center for Civil Liberties.

The prestigious Nobel Prizes, which encompass physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, and peace, were established as a testament to the legacy of Alfred Nobel, the Swedish inventor renowned for his dynamite innovation. These awards have continued to honor outstanding contributions to humanity since their inception in 1896. In 1968, the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences was introduced by the central bank of Sweden.

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here